Day 2/3: Grounding and Centering. Aphantasia.

You probably hear these two terms a lot… Grounding and Centering. But what do they mean?
If you are ungrounded, you are like a singular leaf in the wind, blowing around and vulnerable. You are thrown off balance veeeery quickly. However if you are grounded, you’re like a strong tree, your roots deep in the earth and secure. Stuff can whip about around you and you’d be absolutely fine.
I was actually hoping this would come up. You’ve likely heard this word a lot: visualize. Visualize the positive things, visualize in meditations, visualize this and that… However, not everyone actually can! Surprisingly this is common. It’s a condition called aphantasia, unfortunately not much has been found out about it yet, as it’s still relatively new in the psychology field. It is the lack of being able to picture or visualize stuff. If I tell you to picture yourself walking down a beach in summer, can you visualize it? Do you see yourself doing that? If so, fantastic, you can visualize! If you have issues with it, or can’t at all, then you may have some form of aphantasia.
I’m one of the very few who can’t at all. I can’t recollect any images in my head, I can’t imagine or ‘see’ stuff, I can’t even picture a blob of solid colour. I can’t do any of that. A close friend of mine is the same word and graciously gave me the word for it.
You can imagine how the lack of visualization is difficult in a visual focused. world, especially in magick, witchcraft and the occult. Guided meditations are a night mare, you can’t do any astral work, Energy work? Forget it! It seeems hopeless, and to be quite honest, I thought I was an awful witch because I didn’t have the ability to see stuff. I tried so many meditations and exercises to try and ‘fix and open my third eye’. A conversation with my nearly deaf father made me have an epiphany before.
A good chunk of my father’s hearing is gone. You honestly don’t realize how shitty the world is if you have a disability till a loved one has one or you suffer through it yourself. Being with my dad showed me a lot of stuff relies on hearing. You can’t even go grocery shopping. Cashier could ask you something and as a deaf man you’d never hear it. At this point me and my sister have become his ears. I was talking to him once and he said: “I can try all I want, but no matter what, I won’t be able to get my hearing back.”
That made me think, was I trying to hard? Honestly you don’t see someone going up to a deaf person and go “You’re not trying hard enough, listen harder next time.” You don’t see someone go up to a legally blind person and say, “You need to do more exercises to open up your eyes.” That sounds absolutely ridiculous, and to be quite honest, very assholey. Why shouldn’t I accept the same answer for my aphantasia? I absolutely can.
If one sense of ours is broken, what happens to the others? They get a boost to make up for the lost sense. Blind people’s hearing and touch is exceptional, they can read braille and use echolocation. My dad can see stuff that I have trouble seeing and my vision is fairly decent.
How do I get through guided meditations? Through feeling and hearing. I hear stuff incredibly well, and touch even more so. I am a very touchy and tactile person.
I have no idea what my inner sanctum looks like, but I know what it feels, smells, tastes and sounds like.
When I do work in the astral, I have no idea what my astral body looks like. I know the feel of it, I know the feel of my surroundings. I can distinctly feel what feels like cloth tied firmly over my eyes, I’ve even tried opening my eyes but absolutely can’t see anything.
Energy work? Easy… Feel the energy. Rub your hands together for a good length of time, then pull them apart… Push them slowly back together, feel that energy? Don’t visualize it, just focus on what you are feeling with your hands. It’s a warm tingly heat for me.
Here’s something SUPER IMPORTANT:

Everything is different for everyone. One persons truth isn’t necessarily my truth. I imagine energy feels different for me than it does for my husband. Just because someone is on a different path or experiences things differently, doesn’t mean they are wrong. I’ve seen this far too much. “My way is the right and only way…” No, sweetie, your way is good for you, perhaps not for others. What’s good for the goose is good for the goose.

I am supposed to write about grounding techniques, but I think I will pass, I honestly wrote enough as it is about the concept of visualization and aphantasia.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

The Magickal Life of the Snow Orchid Witch

Where everyday life meets the bewitching world of magick.

The Animist Druid

Crafting Sacred Relationship with the Land, the People and the Gods

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

Feral Druidry: The Crossroads Companion

At the crossroads of Druidry and Sorcery

The Druid in the Swamp

Druidic Musings from the Texas Gulf Coast

The Magickal Life of the Snow Orchid Witch

Where everyday life meets the bewitching world of magick.

The Animist Druid

Crafting Sacred Relationship with the Land, the People and the Gods

The Ditzy Druid

Grey Catsidhe's Den

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

Feral Druidry: The Crossroads Companion

At the crossroads of Druidry and Sorcery

The Druid in the Swamp

Druidic Musings from the Texas Gulf Coast

